Mama Isabel- Made for Mermaids

 

IMG_6801Made for Mermaids had done it again! This week, they released the Mama Isabel (and a matching girl’s version), a true wrap around shirt and dress. There are so many options available and every single one of the women who tested this pattern looked AHHH-mazing! A few of the options include multiple sleeve and hem lengths. One of my favorites about this is the tulip hem length. Each of the front pieces are slightly curved and angled, creating a beautiful flow and drape. While I didn’t test this option, I have done a hack with the pattern to make just a skirt, leaving off the bodice. I still have a few adjustments to make to my final version of the skirt and maybe I’ll share that one day!

For now though, I’ll share the version that I tested.  I did the dress length with long sleeves. I was so impressed by the ease of construction for the dress. Other than the large amount of material to hem, it went together rather quickly. I used a gorgeous navy floral double-brushed poly from Knitpop and love both the feel and drape it gave for the dress. The length of the skirt was perfect for me. I am 5’7” and the only adjustment I made was to add 1” to the bodice pieces, as M4M drafts for 5’5” (The general rule of thumb is to add 0.5” to the pattern for every 1” of additional height). I can already tell that this dress is going to be a staple in my wardrobe. It looks great with the cross-over…even the hubby said so, haha… but is also very easy to make a little bit more work appropriate by adding a camisole underneath. 

Mamaisabel

Leave a Reply

